Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

 

If you have administrator permissions in Phocas you can add or remove users, set permissions and organise them into groups for easier management. You can decide what data they can view, make bulk changes, monitor activity and decide who should see what.  

Here we'll show you a simple way to create a new user by cloning. You can easily delete the user later. 

Steps covered in this article 

Accessing admin 

Select Administration from the main Phocas menu.

To return to the main Phocas screens, select Main menu.

 

Create new user, Joe, using 'clone' 

You can save time by using 'Clone' to create a user account for a new employee who performs the same or very similar role as an existing user. 'Clone' will create a new user with exactly the same settings as the existing user.

Select a user to clone (in this example it will be yourself)

Now you are in the Phocas admin module. The default view is User admin so you can do this next step from here.

  1. Select the row containing your name by clicking anywhere in the row (but not on the link to your name). 

  2. Choose Clone. This will create a new user with the same settings as you. In the next step you can change their settings.

Enter details for new user

  1. Give the new user a name and password. We're going to call him 'Joe User'.



  2. Save. This creates the new user. Once you save, a new screen opens, allowing you to set Joe's profile and restrictions.  

Choose a profile for Joe 

In this step we will apply a standard profile to the new user, 'Joe'. Here we are in the user maintenance screen.

  1. Go to the Profiles tab and select a profile from the dropdown list. You might want to start with a simple profile that lets Joe look at some data, conduct analysis and save dashboards and favorites. You can go back later and change his profile. In this example we've chosen 'Basic' profile.



  2. Make sure you Save to permanently save changes to a user before closing or moving to a different screen of the user maintenance form. 

Give Joe access to certain data 

In this step, we will set data access for Joe. For now, we want to allow him to access the Sales database but not the Sales & Stock database. There are much finer controls over what users can see, but in this example we'll keep it simple. 

  1. Move from the Profile tab to the Databases tab. Next to the Sales database is a 'restriction and period' setting column. Give Joe access to the Sales database by choosing a period from the dropdown: here we have chosen Rolling 12 months. When Joe opens the Sales database, hisdefault period view will be rolling 12 months. Joe can select other periods once he is in there.


     
  2. You can tell that Joe has no access to the Sales & Stock database because the red outline remains around the box.



  3. Save before you close the user maintenance form.

Delete a user

  • If you have created a new user by following these steps but aren't quite ready to add the user in real life, you can easily delete the user and re-create them later.