Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Once a user has access to CRM, user restrictions allow administrators to define what accounts, contacts, leads and activities a CRM user can view or edit.


Access to CRM

To give a user access to CRM, go to Administration > Users. Select a name to open the user maintenance formThis is where the general user management for Phocas is carried out, and this includes setting CRM access and permissions.

  • Go to the User tab on the form. 

  • Under the 'License' section set the CRM license to 'Yes'. This can be changed here, or from the licence administration screen. Note that the ability to assign a licence to someone depends on the number of available licences.

CRM restrictions 

In the current versions of Phocas, rules-based CRM user restrictions are the primary method of determining what accounts, contacts, leads and activities a CRM user can view or edit. Administrators can assign users to teams, groups and territories for ease of management, but it is the restrictions that determine what the user can view and edit. Users with older versions of Phocas can see documentation here.

The basic principles of restrictions are:

  • You can always view and edit anything you own.
  • If you have edit access to an account or lead, you'll be able to edit the entities associated with that account. For example, if your restrictions allow you to edit an account (the 'parent'), you'll also be able to edit that account's activities, that account's contacts, and even the contact's activities (the 'children').
  • Similarly, if you have view access to an account, you'll be able to view its entities.
  • Campaigns can be viewed by all users, regardless of restriction

How to set CRM restrictions

The default setting for CRM view and edit restrictions is 'No restriction'. This would typically apply to administrators or users who require a broad level of access, and allows them to view and edit all CRM entities. For other users, however, you may want to restrict what they can view and edit within CRM.

  • Go to the CRM restrictions tab on the user maintenance form.
  • In the 'View' section untick 'No restriction'. Remember, the user can still view and edit anything they own.
  • Select criteria against which to apply rules.
    In the screenshot below, the user Bert will be able to view entities where the 'owner' is either the user himself or  his colleague 'Jill User'. This is because placeholder 'User' is populated by default, and in this example the administrator has added Jill's name into the rule by using the type-ahead feature available for this field. This is a very basic example, and it would be more common to add additional criteria such as territory, team, etc.

  • Multiple criteria can be restricted with an 'And or 'Or'
  • The following placeholders can be used:
    • <User> is the signed in user's ID.
    • <User's Territory> is the signed in user's territory.
    • <User's Group> is the signed in user's group.
    • <User's Team> is the signed in user's team.

Example - set CRM restrictions for sales executive 'Bert'

In this example, the sales executive 'Bert' has been given a CRM licence. We want Bert to view and edit everything within his own team and territory. We also want him to be able to view entities within the neighbouring territory, 'US central east', but we don't want him to be able to edit anything relating to that territory.

You can see in screenshot 1 below (showing his user profile tab) that Bert belongs to the 'US central north' territory and the 'Sales' team. He also belongs to the 'Electrical' group, but for now we won't use group as the basis for any restrictions.

Set view restrictions for Bert

  • Go to the CRM restrictions tab on the user maintenance form.

  • In the 'View' section untick 'No restriction' (noting Bert will still be able to view and edit anything he owns, and be able to view all campaigns).

  • Select the green plus  to add a new rule

  • Select 'Owner's Team. The box next to it will auto-populate with 'user's team', which in Bert's case we know is 'sales'.

  • Select 'Owner's territory'. 

    • The box will auto-populate with 'user's territory' (which we know is US central north).

    • Start typing 'US central east' to add that territory to the rule

  • Save.

  • Bert will now be able to view the following entities in CRM:

    • anything he that he owns

    • entities within his own team (sales) and territory (US central north)

    • entities within US central east

    • any campaigns.

Set edit restrictions for Bert

  • In the 'Edit' section untick 'No restriction' (noting Bert will still be able to edit anything he owns).
  • Select the green plus  to add a new rule
  • Select 'Owner's Team. The box next to it will auto-populate with 'user's team', which in Bert's case we know is 'sales'.
  • Select 'Owner's territory'. The box will auto-populate with 'user's territory' (which we know is US central north).

  • Save.
  • Bert will now be able to edit the following entities in CRM:
    • anything he that he owns

    • entities within his own team (sales) and territory (US central north).

Permission to create accounts and campaigns

  • Go to the Profile tab on the user maintenance form.
  • Under the 'CRM' section set whether the user has permissions to create accountdelete account and/or create campaign.