Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

 

The user maintenance form allows you to change a user's permissions, functionality and other settings. 

Select Administration > Users to see a list of Phocas users or search for a user. Select a user from the 'Name' column to open the user maintenance formYou may not see all of the tabs described below, depending on your profile.

 

Save your changes

Make sure you Save changes you make on any screen within the User maintenance form. Using Close or moving to a different screen does not automatically save the changes.

User tab

The User screen is divided into two sections: User information in the top section and basic permissions underneath. It is essentially the same screen that you populate when you create a new user. The other tabs appear once the user has been created.

User information

  • Username (mandatory): The name the user will use to log in to the application. This usually matches a user's Windows network login.
  • Display Name (mandatory): The name displayed on the user menu.

  • Email: The user's email address. A user needs a valid email address to be able to receive subscriptions. New users on the current version of Phocas will be asked to enter an email address the first time they sign in, unless one has already been entered here.
  • Phone numbers: Information fields.
  • Group, Territory: Groupings used to make bulk updates easier and allow for filtering by group or territory from the View users screen. These fields may be disabled for some admin users, depending on your permissions.  You need to have 'Users: All Users' selected in your profile.

  • Language: If language is left blank, the default system language will be used. Selecting a different language does not change the names of measuresproperties or dimensions, as these are defined by the data in each database.

  • Show splash screen: Controls whether a splash screen will be displayed when the user signs in.
  • Default home screen: Either leave this blank to present the user with a home screen listing the databases, dashboards and favorites to which they have access, or select a dashboard as their default home screen. You can only choose a dashboard to which they have access.
  • Timezone: Select a default timezone for the user. They can change this via their personal settings screen.

Permissions 

  • Detailed Logs: Controls whether every query by the user is recorded (they can be viewed in the Usage tab). Enabling this option can slow the system so it should be used with caution.
  • Folders: Ticking any of the folders displayed in this list allows the user to access the favorites and dashboards in the ticked folder. Profile settings control whether a user can create or delete items.
  • Integrations: Ticking any of the integration tasks displayed in this list allows the user to access these actions from the grid. 

Unlocking a user account 

If a user exceeds the limit on the number of login attempts they will be automatically locked out of their account. Untick 'Account locked' to unlock their account. For information on setting a limit on failed logins see Set your site's password policy 

User tab

   

Profile tab

The Profile screen (shown in image below) controls which functional elements of Phocas are available to the user. From this screen you can select one of the following profile types:  

  • A pre-defined system profile. These are common profiles created in the Profiles administration form and assigned to multiple users. They are usually:
    • Viewer
    • Basic
    • Advanced
    • Administrator
  • A <blank> profile. The user has no enabled functionality. This means that they are able to run favorites that are in the folders listed on the User page and drill down on the resulting data, but they cannot create new favorites or change modes within the existing ones.
  • A 'User Specific' profile. Each of the elements can be enabled or disabled for a specific user. 

 

If a user has a viewer licence, the Profile tab on their individual user maintenance form has the profile type grayed out.  

 

Profile tab (top section only)

Administrators with permission can edit a system profile or create a new profile by selecting Administration > Profiles from Phocas menu. See Assign profiles to users.

Administration profile settings

See Customize administrator permissions

Databases tab

The databases screen (shown in the image below) displays available databases and allows an administrator to manage user access to these databases. 

  • To grant a user access to a database, select a defined period from the dropdown menu next to the database. Clearing a defined period denies access.
  • To further restrict what data the user can see within a specific database, click the lock icon  next to the database. 
  • Use the up and down buttons at the top left of the screen to set the order in which the databases appear in the user's home screen. 

Favorites tab

This tab displays any personal favorites created by the user as well as any favorites shared with them. 

  •  Selecting an item enables the 'Delete' button on the left-hand side.
  • Deleting a personal favorite permanently removes it from the system. Deleting shared favorites just removes if from the user's view, it remains for other shared users and the original author.  

You can filter favorites by whether they are owned by the user ( i.e., ones they have created), whether the user has subscribed to them (including frequency and delivery type) or by database. In the image below, the 'Is subscribed' filter is active and has turned orange. 

Dashboards tab

This tab displays any personal dashboards created by the user. Selecting an item enables the 'Delete' button on the left-hand side. There are no other configuration options.


Usage tab

The usage chart displays the user's usage in a column chart. Every time a user performs a query on the query screen the count for that database and that day is increased. This includes whenever a new dimension, measure, property, etc. is selected. Dashboard and chart queries are not counted. 

By default, the chart shows usage across all databases during the past 28 days. You can filter by database or a 3, 6 or 12 month period.

Hidden tabs

The user maintenance form contains some additional tabs not typically available to administrators. These include 'Settings' and 'Audit', which are used by Phocas implementation and support consultants.

Query log tab

If Detailed logging is enabled, this tab displays details for each query the user makes. This detailed logging records the date/time, the database, mode, dimension, period, any selections made and whether the result was shown as a chart or grid. Not all admin users will see this tab.

  • The Purge button against the user permanently deletes all recorded events. 
  • The Refresh button re-queries the log and reloads the page.

Resetting a password from the user maintenance form

 On sites that use Phocas authentication administrators can reset a user's password from the user maintenance form, selecting Reset password to the top right.

Note about saving changes

You need to Save to permanently store any changes made on a screen in the user maintenance form. If you click Close or move to a different tab without first saving you will lose your changes.

 


 

5 Comments

  1. Probably a statement of the obvious but a Password change is ineffectual for sites using LDAP.

    1. Obvious to some but a very good point nonetheless, thanks. Will update this page accordingly, to make this clear.

  2. The notes referring to the Favorites Tab states "this tab displays any personal favorites created by the user"  Should this not read "This tab displays any personal favorites shared to the user" ?       When you delete the favorite from any that show, this removes the sharing of the favorite to the user.

    Whereas the wording for the Dashboard Tab is correct.

    1. Thanks Andy.  Hopefully it's clearer now?